Andrea Melendrez logo



Drawing of Lemons and an Apple but the Lemons Look Like Mangoes Eyes Rough Sketch of a Hand



Hello!

My name is Andrea Melendrez, and I am an 18-year-old 12th-grade Web Development and Design student at Dauphin County Technical School. I chose at the age of 14 to enroll in Web Development and Design as my program of study because I have always felt that technology is the future; I wanted to take part in building that future by building sites and apps that can help improve the everyday lives of people. I could go about doing so in a myriad of ways: I could create a social media platform, a website for businesses or organizations, an app that could revolutionize an entire industry (think Uber or Amazon), or more. That's what's exciting about the industry to me — this industry is constantly growing and technology is constantly being improved and evolved. I want to help our future grow.





I currently work part-time as a Beauty Associate at Ulta Beauty, a beauty salon company. Because I am one of three employees that speaks Spanish, I often assist our Spanish-speaking guests with finding and explaining products. I love my job because it enables me to meet a variety of people every day that I work and allows me to help make others feel beautiful and confident in themselves. For the next two years, I'll be attending Harrisburg Area Community College. Once I earn my associate's degree in Web Development and Design, I plan to attend a four-year college and then get my bachelor's degree in the field. I hope to perhaps create a site and/or app that gives real, honest, and unbiased reviews and rankings for every beauty product possible.





I like to paint with watercolors and draw (above are images of doodles and drawings from my sketchbook). I also like to read; my favorite book is The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath, and I completely adore Margaret Atwood's short story Happy Endings. I also like to read and learn about history; in particular, I like to learn about World War II, the Renaissance period, the Romantic Period, Medieval life, art history, and European history. I also crochet; I've recently only been making daisy granny squares in hopes of having enough to create a blanket out of them. I'm a first-generation immigrant Mexican-American, so once or twice a year I fly out to Mexico, to visit either my mother's side of the family and the area she is from or my father's side of the family and the area he is from. Though both places are different, I like them both equally.